"A pearl buried inside a tightly-shut shell is practically worthless. Government information is a pearl, meant to be shared with the public in order to maximize its inherent value."

Brief History of LNU

The Congressman of the First District of Leyte, Hon. Cirilo Roy Montejo, recognizing the strength and capability of the institution, filed House Bill No. 22 proposing the conversion of Leyte State College into a university. Co-sponsored in the Senate by the Chairman of the Education Committee, Hon. Letecia RamosShahani, House Bill No. 22 was enacted into law under Republic Act No. 7901 finally converting the Leyte State College into Leyte Normal University on February 23, 1995.
Then Leyte Normal School during World War II
In 1993, several undergraduate and graduate programs of the then Leyte State College were awarded Level I Accredited Status by the AACCUP. In 1996, these achieved Level II Accredited Status. Three programs received Level III, Phase I status while 4 others have on-going Level III status in 2005; 3 others were declared Level III, Phase 1 status in 2006 while 2 programs were reaccredited Level II status in the same year. At present, twenty (20) LNU programs are AACCUP Accredited. These are as follows: Level III re-accredited status -- BEED, BSED, D.A. (LT), D.M. (HRM), Ph.D. (SSR), M.M., Ed.D., M.A.T., and M.A.Ed.; Level III -- M.P.E.; Level II re-accredited -- BSHRM, BSHAE; Level I accredited status -- BEED-BSED, BSTHRM, BSSW and ABCom, and BSIT, M.E. and M.A.SpED are in Candidate status
P. Paterno St., Brgy. 50., Tacloban City, Leyte, Philippines
iGovPhil GWT 25.3.3 | WCAG 2.1 Compliant (Know more)
Phone: +63 (53) 832 3205
Email: info@lnu.edu.ph