LNU, First SUC to Get Safety Seal in Tacloban City

LNU gets safety seal as the first SUC in Tacloban City to be awarded the same by the DILG Tacloban City Safety Seal Inspection and Certification Team last February 7, 2022, at the LNU Administration Ballroom.

The Safety Seal certification is awarded to facilities and establishments which complied and passed the minimum public health standards set by the government.

LNU applied for the Safety Seal from the DILG Tacloban City relative to its preparation for the implementation of limited face-to-face laboratory classes in three programs, namely Bachelor of Science in Information Technology (BSIT), Bachelor of Science in Tourism Management (BSTM), and Bachelor of Science in Hospitality Management (BSHM) starting semester 2 of SY 2021-2022.

LNU was awarded the Safety Seal after thorough evaluation and inspection of its retrofitted facilities to fulfill safety requirements relative to the same.

Prior to the actual visit, thorough preparation was done by the university with the conduct of an in-house simulation activity participated in by the university officials, LNU Crisis Management Committee, concerned faculty, staff, and students.

LNU President Dr. Evelyn B. Aguirre, in her message, extended her thanks to the inspection team composed of DILG Tacloban City, Health Office, the Philippine National Police and the Bureau of Fire Protection in providing assistance to improve the facilities and interim protocols of the university in connection with the same endeavor.

Comprising the inspection team are DILG officials headed by City Director Johannes Y. Dorado, with Ms. Duchess M. Cobacha, Ms. Jennylyn T. Budlong, and Ms. Maridel B. Burgos. Acting City Health Officer Dr. Gloria Fabrigas and Mr. Richard Solilap represented the City Health Office. The Bureau of Fire Protection (BFP) Team was composed of SINSP Anthony De Paz, SFO3 Arthur Aralar, SFO3 Juan Rentuaya, Jr., FO2 Edgar Ian Pelito, and FO2 Darryl Franz Tolosa, while Deputy City Director for Operation PLTCol Alex Cobacha, Patrolwoman Lady Stefanie R. Alonzo, and PEMS Armando B. Cablao made up the PNP Tacloban Team.

Published by: Rico Combinido, IT Support Office