LNU Dayaw Awards 2022 Honors Tradition and Values Leadership

Leyte Normal University turning 101 last March 2022 takes pride in recognizing the feats and accomplishments of its faculty, staff, students, and its stakeholders. In the January 2022 Licensure Examination for Teachers, Ms. Jhane Eyre Marie G. Olmedo landed Top 3, and for this, she received a plaque and cash award for the pride and honor she brought to LNU.

Among LNU’s notable accomplishments are CHED’s approval of LNU’s limited face-to-face laboratory classes, high pass rating in the CHED onsite visit on the flexible learning implementation, and the national qualifiers in the DICT Philippine Startup Challenge 2021 (Student Category).

And so, to celebrate the rest of many accomplishments of its faculty, personnel, and students in research, instruction, extension, and production, LNU held its Annual Dayaw Awards on March 19, 2022. With this year’s theme, “Honoring Traditions: Valuing Leadership,” the university acknowledges the advancement of knowledge and technology production towards the development of sustainable societies.

This year’s awards and awardees in the Dayaw Awards 2022: “Honoring Tradition: Valuing Leadership” are as follows: for the Model Student of the Year, Dorothy G. Fabian was announced as the Integrated Laboratory School Model Student Awardee, Jacob D. Villas as Undergraduate Model Student, and Alfon Guiller Daga as the Graduate School Model Student. For the Best Undergraduate Research Paper, the study entitled “FLEXIBLE LEARNING MODALITY: PAGKATUTO NG MGA MAG-AARAL SA PANAHON NG PANDEMYA” by Paul Vincent M. Murillo, Clarisa D. Olivar, Warin V. Orquino, John Mark Papiona, and Jonel O. Ravas was awarded. Meanwhile, the study “GENDER AND DEVELOPMENT: A CASE STUDY OF ITS IMPLEMENTATION AMONG PRIVATE HIGHER EDUCATION INSTITUTIONS (HEIs) IN TACLOBAN CITY” by Mr. Tyrone O. Gil Jr. was declared as the Best Graduate Research Paper.

Another award given was for the Publications in ISI/SCOPUS and CHED Accredited Journals and Publications in International Refereed Journals. For the Publications in ISI/SCOPUS and CHED-Accredited Journals, Mr. Jan Gresil D. Kahambing (20), Dr. Joyce M. Magtolis, Dr. Voltaire Q. Oyzon, Dr. Glenda D. Cadiente, Dr. Billy A. Danday, Ms. Rhodora T. Navarro, Ms. Annabelle L. Balderian, and Ms. Charrie Anne C. Padullo received the award. The recognition for Publications in International Refereed Journals was awarded to Ms. Marisol C. Abanilla, Ms. Ma. Rebecca A. Abayan, Ms. Michell T. Acala (2), Dr. Evelyn B. Aguirre, Rowena N. Ariaso, Dr. Las JohansenB. Caluza, Mr. Jeffrey C. Cinco, Mr. Raphy S. Dalan, Mr. Gilbert C. Galit (2), Mr. Tyrone O. Gil Jr. (2), Dr. Micheline A. Gotardo, Mr. Jan Gresil Kahambing, Dr. Rufo A. Labarrete, Dr. Mark Lester P. Laurente, Dr. Alvin R. De Mesa, Mr. Ryan G. Destura, Mr. Luis Lorenzo Domingo, Ms. Anne Dominique C. Duque, Dr. Jacqueline I. Espina, Ms. Fatima Grace D. Fabillar, Dr. Solomon D. Faller Jr., Ms. Lilibeth B. Fallorina, Ms. Devine Grace D. Funcion, Dr. Maricris M. Loso, Dr. Rommel L. Verecio, Mr. Jay P. Mabini, Dr. Leoncio Olobia, Ms. Charrie Anne C. Padullo, Ms. Fabiana P. Peñeda, Dr. Garry A. Portillo, Dr. Lowell A. Quisumbing, Dr. Victoria Y. Rojas, Atty. Alma Sonia Q. Sanchez-Danday, Ms. Maria Lourdes G. Tan (2), Ms. Maricar C. Tegero, Mr. Dennis S. Tibe, Ms. Thea A. Ticoy, and Mr. Debby P. Turco.

Recognition for the Extension Project of the Year and Extensionist of the Year were also presented. For the Extension Project of the Year Awardee, the project “E-Skills: Pedagogical and Technological Skills Enhancement for Teachers of Bato National High School—BSED and IT Units as Co-implementer” with its Lead Implementers, Mr. Niceforo Casaus and Dr. Lowel Quisumbing was recognized. Extensionist of the Year was awarded to Prof. Bryan Joseph Matillano. For garnering the highest number of research points through various research in his field of expertise and other research involvement, the Researcher of the Year award was given to Mr. Jan Gresil D. Kahambing.

More awards were given to the Services Awardees of Bronze (20 years), Silver (25 years), Gold (30 years), Platinum (35 years), and Double Platinum (40 years). The Bronze awardees were Prof. Christian G. Abalos, Prof. Ryan G. Destura, Prof. Rutchelle E. Caliwan, Prof. Romyr L. Gabon, Prof. Jerauld M. Lirios, Dr. Generoso M. Mazo, Dr. Victoria D. Naboya, and Prof. Oreste M. Ortega. For the Silver awardees, Dr. Nilda V. Jamora, Dr. Ursula M. Labita, and Prof. Basilisa O. Silvano were recognized. The Gold award was presented to Dr. Chinchinella S. Bofill, Mr. Romulado Apdos, and Ms. Nora C. Cabriana, and posthumously to Ms. Ma. Fe M. Catindig. Meanwhile, Dr. Nestor C. Sedanza was given the Platinum award, and for their 40 years of service, Ms. Susan G. Banzali and Prof. Jose N. Lianza accepted the Double Platinum Award. Ms. Mae C. Espellarga from the Accounting Unit bagged the Employee of the Year award.

Adding to the excitement of the night were the awards for the best-dressed faculty and personnel. The Best Dressed Awardees from the Male Faculty/Personnel, were Luis Lorenzo B. Domingo, Reynaldo B. Garnace, and Leo A. Omamalin. Eva Marie P. Jocson, Alma Sonia Sanchez-Danday, and Maricar C. Tegero were the Best Dressed Awardees from the Female Faculty/Personnel.

The Dayaw Awards 2022 was chaired by Dr. Perlita M. Vivero, with selected faculty and personnel as committee members. This year, Dr. Gerardo P. Nicol, Chair of the Languages and Literature Unit, was the Master of Ceremonies.

Published by: Rico Combinido, IT Support Office