Fourth LNU President Delivers State of the University Address

Fourth University President Dr. Evelyn B. Aguirre delivered her State of the University Address highlighting the institution’s pursuit of excellence on March 7, 2024, at the HRDC Alba Hall.

President Aguirre is the first president of Leyte Normal University to deliver a State of the University Address. Themed “Navigating Excellence: The Leyte Normal University Journey,” the address highlighted the university’s achievements in its commitment to academic excellence and operational agility. Alongside its academic excellence, the university has fortified its involvement in innovation and research endeavors, firmly establishing itself in scholarly advancement.

Moreover, the president reported the accomplishments of the university relative to the 10 Stategic Goals of the university for 2022-2026.

On top of the said accomplishments, the address also stressed the university’s success in the 2023 World University Rankings for Innovation (WURI) with LNU being Ranked 96th in the Global Top 100 Innovative Universities, and in the 2023 Times Higher Education Impact Rankings with LNU being Ranked 601 – 800 globally.

All of these accomplishments are in consonance with and lead to the fulfillment of the university’s vision, to be a globally recognized university of education, management, arts and sciences geared towards the inclusive growth and sustainability of society.

Dr. Aguirre, with her clear vision for a transformative organization, laid out the goals and strategic plans for the coming years, strengthening its position as a leading institution, in navigating its path toward becoming a globally recognized university.

Honorable guests who delivered felicitations in this very important event are Dr. Maximo C. Aljibe, CHED Director Regional Office VIII; Hon. Victor Cañezo Jr., University President of Biliran Province State University and President of PASUC 8; Ms. Maria Lumen Tabao, representative of the Tacloban City Mayor’s Office and LNU Alumni Regent; and Atty. Cesar Ruperto Ong, representative of Tingog Partylist and the offices of Hon.Yedda Marie K. Romualdez and Hon. Jude A. Acidre.

Equally respected guests who graced the event are Ms. Grace Q. Subong, DSWD Director Region 8; Mr. Felix S. Tabanao Jr., DICT Director Region 8; Mr. Armond M. Englis, PRC Director Region 8; Ms. Geselle Frances P. Zeta, representative NEDA Region 8; Ms. Natividad L. Costibolo, Director CSC Region 8; Dr. Ronelo Al K. Firmo, representative DepEd Region 8; Dr. Andres Pagatpatan, President Eastern Samar State University; Ms. Corazon Alvero, representative Province of Leyte; Dr. Maria Belinda C. Lora, representative Eastern Visayas State University; Dr. Ramil Catamora, representative Northwest Samar State University; Dr. Arturo N. Salazar, representative DENR Region 8; and Prof. Jose N. Lianza, former Director LNU-Gender and Development Office.

The faculty, staff, students, retirees, and other stakeholders of the university also attended the event to witness and express their support for the university’s milestones and future endeavors.

Published by: Rico Combinido, IT Support Office